Does good behaviour management = a good teacher?

This topic contains 15 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Paul Huebl Paul Huebl 2 years ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Kyla Casey Kyla Casey 
    Participant

I know that there are so many aspects to being a good teacher and driving home from a TRT gig at a cat 2 school I was just getting my head around what I did well and what I need to do differently and had a moment of saying to myself, arrrg, I want to be better at behaviour management, I’m not good at it “yet”. But then I reflected that as early career teacher, I still feel like I am in essence a good teacher which then lead me to wonder…does good behaviour management and being a good teacher go hand in hand? Can you be a good teacher with out being good at behaviour management, can you be good at behaviour management but not be a good teacher?

I mean, I know the obvious, that if you don’t have good behaviour management skills than you can’t manage your class and therefore you can’t really teach to any great depth and due to that your students can’t learn in any great depth, but beyond the obvious…what are your thoughts?

Profile photo of Selena Woodward Selena Woodward 
    Keymaster

That’s a fab question. I think you have to be good at relationships with kids. One of the things I noticed when I was building the behaviour management part of reflect growth was how much the examples I had researched focused on the negative behaviours. in my experiences Behaviour management is about so much more than that!! It’s is about relationships not just about controlling kids.